Shallow Thoughts (#1 of -89): Your Name

Look. When I first watched Your Name, it was on a plane and I was half-awake. Back then, after Taki and Mitsuha finally asked for each other’s name, my mind just went blank with unbearable emotion. (Obviously, I was also flipping tired)

It’s a given that this is one of the best if not the best animated film of our modern time. Back then, I’d have given it a 9/10. But the more I thought about it, the more it dropped to a fitting 7.5/10.

Why? It’s not because of the calendar dates or the more common plot-holes that most people fuss about already. It’s not because of generic dislikes, such as those towards music, visuals etc. Bear in mind that the music and visuals are definitely what I like most about this film.

What I really dislike about Your Name is mentioned by some: How Taki though writing “I Love You” on Mitsuha’s hand was way more important than writing his own name. There are many others that are already mentioned, which fall in the same category:
1) Taki failed to chase after Mitsuha
2) They never bothered to fully figure out who their controlling peer was. Even after being fully conscious of what was truly happening.
3) They take so long to talk to each other that Mitsuha fades away before fully writing her own name (it’s been a while since I’ve watched the movie, admittedly).

And the comet. I can’t forget to mention that!
If I were to picture it as a chart of “Dramatic Structure”, I can only see three levels:
a) The first level at the bottom is a proper steady rise, with the introduction and rising action; but
b) Stays at an exceedingly flat Climax, completely built towards a falling comet; which then exhibits
c) A firm soft bump of a third level at which they struggle to find each other.

As I thought about all this, I grew more and more frustrated: That such a great movie, that could for once let us audience relate to it, exudes such an exaggerated avoidance of sense and innate instinct to further a story.

But at the end of the day, I won’t judge anything else, because I already love this movie as it is. It has honestly come out at a great time of the generation I belong in. Fancy that! We’re about the same age 😀
In something that is much better, though different, to what Miyazaki does, it is that Makoto Shinkai has shown a more realistic, accurate, yet entertaining image of Japanese Culture. And that is something worthy of praise; to do something so well, and so envious of.

Leave a Reply

